Inverness CT 1 - 0 Airdrieonians

League Match
Saturday, March 30th, 2002, 3:00 PM at Caledonian Stadium, Inverness
Attendance: 1,709
Referee: C Hardie
Inverness CT  Airdrieonians

Martin Bavidge (50)

Team Managers
Steve Paterson Unknown.

Starting Eleven
Nicky Walker
Ross Tokely
Grant Munro
Bobby Mann
Charlie Christie
Barry Robson
David Bagan
Roy McBain
Russell Duncan
Martin Bavidge
Dennis Wyness

Jim Calder
Graeme Stewart
Duncan Shearer
Neil MacDonald
Paul Ritchie

Neil MacDonald for Dennis Wyness (84)
Paul Ritchie for Martin Bavidge (84)
Graeme Stewart for David Bagan (88)
Vareille -> Henry (58)
Gardner -> Armstrong (79)
Trialist -> McPherson (79)

Russell Duncan (34)
Grant Munro (67)
Taylor (57)
Docherty (70)
Roberts (78)
McManus (90)

Red Cards
None. None.
Appearances & Goals To Date
Nicky Walker (GK) 32 apps -
Grant Munro 30 apps1 goal
Ross Tokely 193 apps12 goals
Bobby Mann 127 apps11 goals
Roy McBain 80 apps5 goals
David Bagan 55 apps11 goals
Barry Robson 121 apps14 goals
Charlie Christie 274 apps32 goals
Russell Duncan 36 apps1 goal
Dennis Wyness 111 apps52 goals
Martin Bavidge 118 apps19 goals
Graeme Stewart (sub) 25 apps -
Neil MacDonald (sub) 16 apps1 goal
Paul Ritchie (sub) 39 apps19 goals

Starting Lineup
Youngest Player:Ross Tokely (23 years 28 days)
Oldest Player:David Bagan (2003 years 241 days)
Average Player Age:29 years 201 days
Domestic Players:11 (100.00 % of starting eleven)

Matchday Squad
Youngest Player:Ross Tokely (23 years 28 days)
Oldest Player:Nicky Walker (2003 years 241 days)
Average Player Age:33 years 249 days
Domestic Players:16 (100.00 % of matchday squad)

First Team Debuts


Steve Paterson�s 300th game in charge produced a very welcome victory which stopped a slide down the league. Caley Thistle lay fourth last Saturday but slipped to seventh in midweek without kicking a ball. This win resulted in a climb to fifth. The first half was a nervous period with Caley Thistle trying hard but achieving little. Airdrie�s best chance came in the first minute when they were awarded a free kick 20 yards out � Mark Roberts drove the ball goalwards and Nicky Walker dived to make a good save. In 13 minutes a high David Bagan cross proved troublesome to Airdrie �keeper Allan Ferguson but he tipped it over. Five minutes later a Barry Robson corner from the right reached Grant Munro beyond the back post but he could only bundle the ball over for a goal kick. Stuart Taylor created a chance for himself at the other end in 29 minutes but he wasted it with a scuff past the post. In 33 minutes the home side�s best first half chance fell to Dennis Wyness after good interplay with Charlie Christie � the striker hit it over from 10 yards. A minute later Owen Coyle reached a corner at the back post but left it to Taylor � he mishit to concede a goal kick. The tempo of the match changed in 50 minutes when Robson sent over a cross from the left and Martin Bavidge scored at the back post despite Ferguson getting a touch. This lifted Caley Thistle and calmed a few nerves. They kept on top after that but could not score a second goal. Robson strode through the Airdrie defence just after the goal but his shot deflected off Alan McManus. On the hour mark Ferguson raced out of goal to the touchline to just beat Bavidge to the ball. Ferguson saved Airdrie again in 76 minutes when he dived at the feet of Wyness as he stretched to reach a Bavidge curling ball � it went harmlessly for a goal kick. The nerves returned in the last few minutes as Caley Thistle worked hard to preserve their lead. With three minutes left Airdrie nearly stole an equaliser when a seemingly harmless Taylor header beat Walker but came back off the post into the relieved �keeper�s arms. Despite a seemingly endless three minutes of added time Caley Thistle held on to win.


Pld W D L F A +/- Pts
1. Partick Thistle 32 17 8 7 57 34 23 59
2. Airdrieonians 32 14 10 8 55 36 19 52
3. Ross County 32 12 8 12 44 39 5 44
4. Arbroath 32 13 5 14 39 53 -14 44
5. Inverness CT 32 12 7 13 56 49 7 43
6. Ayr United 31 11 10 10 49 42 7 43
7. Clyde 32 11 9 12 46 52 -6 42
8. St. Mirren 31 10 10 11 38 47 -9 40
9. Falkirk 32 10 6 16 47 69 -22 36
10. Raith Rovers 32 7 11 14 48 58 -10 32